Wednesday, December 11, 2024 Room 2112, David C. Briegel Building

#### General Business

Members of the Southwestern Michigan College Board of Trustees met on December 11, 2024 for a regularly scheduled meeting.

The meeting was convened at 8:00 a.m. by Board Vice Chairman Tracy Hertsel.

Members Present: Todd Obren, Skip Dyes, Becky Moore, Dr. Elaine Foster, Tracy Hertsel

Members Absent: Beth Cripe, Tom Jerdon

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Minutes of the November 13, 2024 regular convened meeting required no changes and were placed on file.

Dr. Elaine Foster moved, seconded by Becky Moore, to approve the agenda. Motion passed unanimously.

Two individuals were recognized for their service at the College:

Ms. Emily Schrock was recognized for her years of service and Trustee Becky Moore presented her with a 5-year pin.

Mr. John Eberhart was recognized for his years of service and Trustee Skip Dyes presented him with a 20-year pin.

### **Public Input**

No individual requested to speak.

#### Other

The Treasurer's Report for the month ending November 30, 2024 was received and placed on file.

Dr. Odenwald gave his President's Report highlighting his "Top 10 SMC news stories for 2024", #1 being the "SMC Founders Day Celebrates 60<sup>th</sup> Anniversary". Other stories in the "Top 10" included the 50<sup>th</sup> Anniversary of Steve's Run, partnering with Grand Valley State University, enrollment growth, success in athletics, tuition-free scholarship program and housing expansion.

### **Discussion Items**

Trustees reviewed the listing of gifts given to the Foundation, with six individual donations for a grand total of \$2,120.

#### **Action Items**

Dr. Elaine Foster moved, seconded by Todd Obren, to accept the Board of Trustees meeting dates for the calendar year 2025. Motion passed unanimously.

# **Review of Follow-up Requests**

No follow-up requests were made of the administration.

# **Adjournment**

Becky Moore moved to adjourn at 8:17 a.m. Dr. Elaine Foster seconded. Motion passed unanimously.

Becky Moore, Acting Secretary

Tracy Hertsel, Vice Chairman