Graduate with his family

SMC Foundation

Your Support Changes Lives and Builds Futures

Education is the gateway to a better future, both for individual students and for all of us whom their work affects, whether they are our children's kindergarten teachers, the nurses caring for our loved ones, or the farmer using new technologies to keep us all fed.

Each year, hundreds of SMC students rely on the scholarships provided by generous donors to pursue their goals and reach their potential.

The mission of the Southwestern Michigan College Foundation is to inspire donors to bridge the financial gap through scholarships and educational investments, thereby opening doors to change lives through higher education and career training.

Please consider making a gift of any amount to support the next generation of impact-makers in our communities.


Make a Donation

Give online now to make an immediate contribution to student success. 


Learn how to bequeath a gift from your estate or will. 


Aerial photo of the SMC Dowagiac cmapus

About the SMC Foundation

The SMC Foundation exists to ensure that all eligible students have financial access to Southwestern Michigan College. It also supports the college in areas not funded through taxes, tuition, and grants like campus beautification projects.

The foundation is a non-profit, tax-exempt corporation that was established in 1970. It is governed by a board of directors made up of local community members who volunteer their time.

Graduates exiting the commencement ceremony

Upcoming Meetings

April 26, 2022, 12 p.m.

All meetings will be in the Foundation Room (Room 906 in the bookstore annex of the Dale A. Lyons Building).

The Fred L. Mathews Library

Foundation Values

Invest in Students

Stewardship of Fiduciary Resources

Enhance Educational Opportunities

Enrich our Communities Through Access to Higher Education



Foundation Officers

Dr. Carole Schmidt, President

Tom Carlson, Vice President

Dr. Joe Odenwald, Secretary

Susan Coulston, Treasurer

Mike O'Brien, Executive Director

Foundation Directors

Jan Barkell

Michele Boyd

Hon. Susan Dobrich

Julie Dye

Priscilla Gatties

Terry Groth

Ron Gunn

Deborah Hackworth

Tom Jerdon

Wellington "Duke" Jones, III

Richard "Dick" Judd Jr.

Krin Jurgensen

Ann McCuistion

Becky Moore

Patricia "Patty" Patano

George Wehrle

Honorary Directors

Dr. David Fleming

By the Numbers

$1 Million

In Scholarships Each Year


SMC Graduates


Students Financially Needy


Avg. Grants and Scholarships

Recent News